ROYAL SOCIETY OF CHEMISTRY

Industry and Technology Forum Formulation Science and Technology Group

Minutes of ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held at 1.15 on 13th October 2005 at The Weston Conference Centre, University of Manchester.

Present: Clive Washington (CW), David Higgins (DH), Pat Mulqueen (PM), Gordon Tiddy (GT), Ged O'Shea (GO), Phillipe Rogueda (PR), Paul Bonnett (PB), Dipak Sarker (DS), Geoff Smith (GS).

Apologies: Peter Garrett (PG), Roger Davey (RD), Shachi Sharma (SS), Eric Patterson (EP).

The Minutes of the previous AGM (30th September 2004) were agreed as a true and accurate record of the meeting (Proposed GT, Seconded PM)

1) Chairman's Report

The chairman thanked everyone for their hard work this year, which had resulted in three successful conferences being held. In particular Philippe was to be commended for the effort which he had put into the organisation of Formula 4, which probably would not have happened without his commitment.

2) Treasurer's report

The treasurers' report is appended to the minutes, and indicates a successful year with a sufficient surplus to allow the group to pursue its meetings plans for the following year. DS proposed approval of the report and PM seconded.

3) Secretary's Business

The secretary reported a current membership of 531, a small decline since 2004.

The committee held a successful awayday in June which resulted in a refined strategy and an extended conference calendar for the next 3 years.

4) Election of officers and committee members

The current officers are not due for re-election this year and so no officer elections were held.

GT and PG retired from the committee this year. A vote of thanks was proposed for their efforts over the last few years (proposed PM, seconded DH). It was further proposed that they were briefly re-co-opted until the publication output from Formula 4 was completed (Proposed DH, seconded CW).

Nominations for ordinary members were received from the remaining members of the committee, and from Richard Greenwood (Proposed PR, seconded PM) and Matthew Giles (proposed GO, seconded DS). It was proposed by GT and seconded by DH that these members were appointed en bloc. As there were no dissenters this was carried.

Meeting Closed at 1.45

Date of next meeting to be confirmed.

Paul Bonnett	Syngenta	T 01484 486052	paul.bonnett@syngenta.com
	Huddersfield Manufacturing Centre	F 01484 486057	
	Leeds Road, Huddersfield		
	West Yorkshire		
	HD2 1FF		
Roger Davey	School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Sciences	T 0161 306 4409	roger.davey@umist.ac.uk
	Jackson's Mill	F 0161 306 4399	
	University of Manchester		
	PO Box 88		
	Manchester M60 1QD		
Matthew Giles	Associated Octel	T 0151 356 6203	gilesm@octel-corp.com
Richard Greenwood	Chemical Engineering	T 121 414 7234	r.w.greenwood@bham.ac.uk
	The University of Birmingham	F 121 414 5324	
	Edgbaston		
	Birmingham		
	B15 2TT		
David Higgins	Higgins Consultancies	T 01287 660796	david.higgins@onyxnet.co.uk
		H 01287 660440	
		M 07932 075199	
Pat Mulqueen	Syngenta	T 01344 414066	patrick.mulqueen@syngenta.com
		F 01344-413628	
Ged O'Shea	Boots	07834 497424	ged.o'shea@boots-plc.com
Eric Patterson	GSK	01932 822073	Eric.S.Paterson@gsk.com
Philippe Rogueda	AstraZeneca Charnwood,	01509 645102	Philippe rogueda@astrazeneca.com
	Bakewell Road		
	Loughborough		

	Leicestershire. LE11 5RH		
Dipak Sarker	School of Pharmacy & Biomolecular Sciences The University of Brighton Moulsecoomb Science Campus Lewes Rd Brighton BN2 4GJ	T 01273 642395 F 1273 67 9333	D.K.Sarker@bton.ac.uk
Shachi Sharma	Lubrizol Ltd., PO Box 88, Belper, Derby DE56 1QN, UK	T 01332-84 5353 F 01773-551 922	SHSH@Lubrizol.com
Geoff Smith	Syngenta	01344 413825	geoffrey.smith@syngenta.com
Clive Washington	PU6, Lab Block, AstraZeneca, Silk Road Business Park, Macclesfield, Cheshire SK10 2NA	T 01925 518256 F 01925 501794 M 07747 767546	clive.washington@astrazeneca.com